Canada is a federal country composed of ten provinces and three territories. Occupying most of northern North America, it extends from the Atlantic Ocean in the east to the Pacific Ocean in the west and northward into the Arctic Ocean. Canada shares land borders with the United States to the south and northwest. By total area, it is the second largest country in the world.


Quick Facts

Canada is one of CDB’s founding members and is classified as a non-regional, non-borrowing member of the Bank. Canada has always been a major contributor to CDB’s resources and makes its contributions primarily through Global Affairs Canada. As of December 31, 2016, Canada holds 9.31 percent of the Bank’s total shares. CDB’s Community Disaster Risk Reduction Trust Fund was established with joint financing from Global Affairs Canada and the Department for International Development, United Kingdom. The Fund finances community-based disaster risk reduction and climate change adaptation initiatives at the local level across eligible borrowing member countries of CDB.

Read, Canada in the Caribbean for more on Canada’s Caribbean Regional Development Program.

Key Contact