Germany, officially the Federal Republic of Germany, is a country in West-central Europe. It is bordered on the north by the North Sea, Denmark, and the Baltic Sea; on the east by Poland and the Czech Republic; on the south by Austria and Switzerland; and on the west by France, Luxembourg, Belgium, and the Netherlands.



Quick Facts

The Federal Republic of Germany became member of CDB on November 2, 1988.  As of December 31, 2016, Germany holds a 5.58 percent stake in CDB. Germany supports CDB’s stated aim of contributing to the harmonious economic growth and development of the member countries in the Caribbean and of promoting economic cooperation among them, having special and urgent regard for the needs of the less developed members of the Region. Germany contributed USD 15.96 million to the eighth replenishment of the Unified Special Development Fund. This allows low-interest loans and grants to continue to be given to the poorest member states of the Caribbean, helping them to help themselves and achieve greater independence from foreign assistance.

Key Contact