United Kingdom


The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (usually shortened to the United Kingdom, the U.K., or Britain) is a country and sovereign state to the north-west of mainland Europe. It comprises the island of Great Britain, the north-east part of the island of Ireland and many small local islands. Northern Ireland is the only part of the UK with a land border, sharing it with the Republic of Ireland. Apart from this land border, the UK is surrounded by the waters of the Atlantic Ocean, the North Sea, the English Channel, and the Irish Sea. It is linked to France by the Channel Tunnel.

Quick Facts

The UK is a founding member of the Bank and as of December 31, 2016, the UK held 9.31 percent of the Bank’s total shares, jointly with Canada, the largest non-Caribbean member.  CDB serves some small island states and UK overseas territories which do not have access to finance from other development banks. The UK provides about a quarter of the Special Development Fund.  Among the UK’s projects and initiatives is CDB’s Community Disaster Risk Reduction Trust Fund which was established with joint financing from the Department for International Development, United Kingdom and the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development (DFATD) of Canada. The Fund finances community-based disaster risk reduction and climate change adaptation initiatives at the local level across eligible borrowing member countries of CDB.

Please see link to DFID’s Multilateral Aid Review (MAR)

Key Contact