Colombia, officially the Republic of Colombia (Spanish: República de Colombia), is a country located in the northwestern region of South America. Colombia is bordered to the east by Venezuela and Brazil; to the south by Ecuador and Peru; to the North by the Atlantic Ocean, through the Caribbean Sea; and to the west by Panama and the Pacific Ocean.


Quick Facts


Capital City: Bogota
Area: 1,138,910 sq km/ 439,735 sq mi
Population: 47,698,524 (July 2017 est.)
Time Zone: UTC -05:00
GDP (PPP): $688 billion (2016 est.)
note: datum in 2016 US dollar
Currency: Colombian Peso (COP)
% of Shares:(as of December 31, 2016) 2.79
Source: Central Intelligence Agency. (2017). The World Factbook: Colombia. Updated August 31, 2017

Key Contact