The United Mexican States, or simply Mexico, is a country located in North America, bounded on the north by the United States; on the south and west by the North Pacific Ocean; on the southeast by Guatemala, Belize, and the Caribbean Sea; and on the east by the Gulf of Mexico. The United Mexican States comprise a constitutional republican federation of thirty-one states and a federal district, Mexico City, one of the most populous cities on Earth.


Quick Facts

Capital City: Mexico City
Area: 1,964,375 sq km/ 758,449 sq mi
Population: 123,166,749 (July 2016 est.)
Time Zone: UTC -08:00 to -06:00
GDP (PPP): $2.307 trillion (2016 est.)
note: datum in 2016 US dollar
Currency: Mexican Peso (MXN)
% of Shares:(as of December 31, 2016) 2.79
Source: Central Intelligence Agency. (2017). The World Factbook: Mexico. Updated June 26, 2017

Key Contact