Venezuela, known since 1999 as the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela, is a country on the northern coast of South America. The country comprises a continental mainland and numerous islands in the Caribbean Sea. It borders Guyana to the east, Brazil to the south, and Colombia to the west. Trinidad and Tobago, Grenada, St. Lucia, Barbados, CuraƧao, Bonaire, Aruba, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and the Leeward Antilles lie just north, off the Venezuelan coast. Falling within the tropics, Venezuela sits close to the Equator, in the Northern Hemisphere.


Quick Facts

Capital City: Caracas
Area: 912,050 sq km/ 352,144 sq mi
Population: 31,304,016 (July 2017 est.)
Time Zone: UTC -04:30
GDP (PPP): $468.6 billion (2016 est.)
note: datum in 2016 US dollar
Currency: Venezuelan Bolivar (VEB)
% of Shares:(as of December 31, 2016) 2.79
Source: Central Intelligence Agency. (2017). The World Factbook: Venezuela. Updated August 31, 2017

Key Contact