Anguilla is a British overseas territory in the Caribbean, one of the most northerly of the Leeward Islands in the Lesser Antilles. It consists of the main island of Anguilla itself, approximately 26 km (16 miles) long by 5 km (3 miles) wide at its widest point, together with a number of much smaller islands and cays with no permanent population.


Quick Facts


Capital City: The Valley
Area: 91 sq km/ 35 sq mi
Population: 16,752 (July 2016 est.)
Time Zone: UTC -04:00
GDP (PPP): $175.4 million (2009 est.)
Currency: East Caribbean Dollar (XCD)
% of Shares:(as of December 31, 2016) 0.16
Source: Central Intelligence Agency. (2017). The World Factbook: Anguilla. Updated June 19, 2017

Key Contact