Montserrat is a British overseas territory located in the Leeward Islands, part of the chain of islands called the Lesser Antilles in the Caribbean Sea. It measures approximately 16 km (9 miles) long and 11 km (6 miles) wide, giving 40 km (24 miles) of coastline. Montserrat was given its name by Christopher Columbus on his second voyage to the New World in 1493, after its namesake located in Catalonia, Spain.


Quick Facts


Capital City: Brades
Area: 102 sq km/ 39 sq mi
Population: 5,267 (July 2016 est.)
Time Zone: UTC -04:00
GDP (PPP): $43.78 million (2006 est.)
Currency: East Caribbean Dollar (XCD)
% of Shares:(as of December 31, 2016) 0.19
Source: Central Intelligence Agency. (2017). The World Factbook: Montserrat. Updated June 30, 2017

Key Documents



Key Contact