Saint Lucia

Saint Lucia is an island nation in the eastern Caribbean Sea on the boundary with the Atlantic Ocean. Part of the Lesser Antilles, it is located north of the islands of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, northwest of Barbados and south of Martinique. It is also known as the “Helen of the West Indies” because the island switched between British and French control so often it was likened to the mythical Helen of Troy.


Quick Facts


Capital City: Castries
Area: 616 sq km/ 238 sq mi
Population: 164,464 (July 2016 est.)
Time Zone: UTC -04:00
GDP (PPP): $2.083 billion (2016 est.)

note: datum in 2016 US dollars
Currency: East Caribbean Dollar (XCD)
% of Shares:(as of December 31, 2016) 0.77
Source: Central Intelligence Agency. (2017). The World Factbook: Saint Lucia. Updated June 15, 2017


CDB Involvement

Saint Lucia is one of the original members of the CDB, having joined in 1970. CDB funding in Saint Lucia is used for social and economic infrastructure such as schools and health centres, building more disaster-resistant structures, community skills training and support for small and medium-sized enterprises.

Key Documents


Approved Projects

Loan/ Grant and Project Summaries

Evaluation Reports

Poverty Assessment Report 2005/6

Key Contact