Trinidad and Tobago

  The Republic of Trinidad and Tobago is an archipelagic state in the southern Caribbean, lying northeast of the South American nation of Venezuela and south of Grenada in the Lesser Antilles. It also shares maritime boundaries with Barbados to the northeast and Guyana to the southeast. The country covers an area of 5,128 square kilometres (1,979 sq mi) and consists of two main islands, Trinidad and Tobago, and 21 smaller islands.


Quick Facts


Capital City: Port of Spain
Area: 5,128 sq km/ 1,979 sq mi
Population: 1,218,208 (July 2017 est.)
Time Zone: UTC -04:00
GDP (PPP): $43.57 billion (2016 est.)

note: datum in 2016 US dollars
Currency: Trinidad and Tobago Dollar (TTD)
% of Shares:(as of December 31, 2016) 17.31
Source: Central Intelligence Agency. (2017). The World Factbook: Trinidad and Tobago. Updated August 30, 2017

Key Documents

Key Contact