Turks and Caicos Islands


The Turks and Caicos Islands (TCI) are a British Overseas Territory consisting of 40 islands and cays, eight of which are inhabited. The islands are located 550 miles southeast of Miami, Florida, just below the Bahamas chain and just to the east of Cuba and the island of Hispaniola (Dominican Republic and Haiti.)


Quick Facts


Capital City: Cockburn Town
Area: 948 sq km/ 366 sq mi
Population: 52,570 (July 2017 est.)
Time Zone: UTC -05:00
GDP (PPP): $632 million (2007 est.)
Currency: United States Dollar (USD)
% of Shares:(as of December 31, 2016) 0.19
Source: Central Intelligence Agency. (2017). The World Factbook: Turks and Caicos Islands. Updated August 30, 2017

Key Contact