EUROPEAN UNIONELIGIBILITYRULES AFRICAN CARIBBEAN PACIFIC – EUROPEAN UNION NATURAL DISASTER RISK MANAGEMENT

PARTICIPATIONINPROCEDURES FORTHEAWARDINGOF PROCUREMENTCONTRACTSOR GRANTCONTRACTS

- 1. Participation in procedures for the award of procurement contracts financed under the EU Contribution Agreement for the Implementation for the Action entitled: "Africa Caribbean Pacific European Caribbean Development Bank (ACP-EU-CDB) Natural Disaster Risk Management in CARIFORUM Countries" (ACP EU NDRM Resources)", is open to international organisations and all natural persons who are nationals of, or legal persons who are established in, an eligible country.
- 2. Eligible countries $\frac{1}{2}$ are deemed to be:
 - (a) Caribbean Development Bank member countries:

Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Belize, Brazil, British Virgin Islands, Canada, Cayman Islands, China, Columbia, Dominica, Germany, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Italy, Mexico, Montserrat, St Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, The Bahamas, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, the United Kingdom and Venezuela.

(b) Members of the "African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) Group of States," 2:

Africa:

South Africa³, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Central African Republic, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Chad, Comoros Islands, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Mauritania, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Uganda, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Note some countries may be eligible by virtue of more than one category

Cotonou Partnership Agreement of 23 June 2000 (as amended by the provisional application of Decision No 1/2000 of the ACP-EC Council of Ministers of 27 July 2000, Decision No 1/2000 of the ACP-EC customs cooperation committee of 18 October 2000, Decision No 1/2001 of the ACP-EC customs cooperation committee of 20 April 2001, Decision No 2/2001 of the ACP-EC customs cooperation committee of 10 May 2001, Decision No 4/2001 of the ACP-EC customs cooperation committee of 27 June 2001, Decision No 5/2001 of the ACP-EC customs cooperation committee of 27 June 2001, Decision No 5/2001 of the ACP-EC customs cooperation committee of 7 December 2001, Decision No 2/2002 of the ACP-EC customs cooperation committee of 28 October 2002, Decision No 1/2003 of the ACP-EC Council of Ministers of 16 may 2003, Council Decision (EC) of 19 December 2002, Decision No 1/2004 of the ACP-EC Council of Ministers of 6 may 2004, Decision No 2/2004 of the ACP - EC customs cooperation committee of 30 June 2004 and Decision No 4/2005 of the ACP-EC customs cooperation committee of 13 April 2005).

Natural and legal South African persons are eligible to participate in contracts financed by the 10th/11th EDF. However, the 10th/11th EDF does not finance contracts in South Africa.

Caribbean:

Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago.

Pacific:

Cook Islands, East Timor, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, the Solomon Islands, Western Samoa, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu.

Overseas Countries and Territories:

Anguilla, Antarctic, Netherlands Antilles, Aruba, British Indian Ocean Territory, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands (Malvinas), French Polynesia, French Southern Territories, Greenland, Mayotte, Montserrat, New Caledonia, Pitcairn, Saint Helena, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands, Turks and Caicos, Wallis and Futuna Islands.

(c) A Member State of the European Union:

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech republic, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom.

An official candidate country of the European Union:

The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Iceland, Montenegro.

A Member State of the European Economic Area: Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway.

(d) All natural persons who are nationals of, or legal persons who are established in, a Least Developed Country as defined by the United Nations:

Afghanistan, Angola, Bangladesh, Benin, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Dem. Rep. Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Kiribati, Lao PDR, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Niger, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Djibouti, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, The Gambia, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Yemen, Rep. and Zambia.

- (e) Participation in procedures for the award of procurement contracts or grants financed from the Facility shall be open to all natural persons who are nationals of, or legal persons established in, any country other than those referred to in paragraph 1, where reciprocal access to external assistance has been established. Reciprocal access in the Least Developed Countries as defined by the United Nations (UN) shall be automatically granted to the OECD/DAC members: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Korea, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States.
- 3. Services under a contract financed from the Facility may be provided by experts of any nationality, without prejudice to the qualitative and financial requirements set out in the Bank's procurement rules.
- 4. Supplies and materials purchased under a contract financed from the Facility must originate in a State that is eligible under paragraph 1. In this context, the definition of the concept of 'originating products' shall be assessed by reference to the Bank's prevailing procurement guidelines/procedures, and supplies originating in the EU shall include supplies originating in the Overseas Countries and Territories.
- 5. Whenever the Facility finances an operation implemented through an international organisation, participation in procedures for the award of procurement contracts or grants shall be open to all natural and legal persons who are eligible under paragraphs 1, care being taken to ensure equal treatment of all donors. The same rules apply for supplies and materials.
- 6. Whenever the Facility finances an operation implemented as part of a regional initiative, participation in procedures for the award of procurement contracts or grants shall be open to all natural and legal persons who are eligible under paragraph 1, and to all natural and legal persons from a country participating in the relevant initiative. The same rules apply for supplies and materials.
- 7. Whenever the Facility finances an operation co-financed with a third entity, participation in procedures for the award of procurement contracts or grants shall be open to all natural and legal persons eligible under paragraph 1, and to all persons eligible under the rules of the third entity. The same rules shall apply to supplies and materials.

Caveat: The Bank and EU eligibility requirements are subject to change by the Bank and the EU. The applicant is responsible for checking whether there have been any updates on the eligibility requirements, as well as the UN's list of Least Developed Countries.