Elections of the President of the Caribbean Development Bank

Nominations for the position of President of the Caribbean Development Bank were received in respect of three candidates, namely, Dr. Hyginus ‘Gene’ Leon, Professor Avinash Persaud and Dr. Aidan Harrigan, within the stipulated period of 90 days after the date of the Bank Secretary's Notice of July 1, 2020. Notice of the receipt of the three nominations was communicated to all Governors. Members of the Board of Directors were also informed. Governors have been invited to a Special Meeting to be held October 28, 2020 for the vote on the election of the new President of the Bank.

The successful candidate must gain the support of at least two-thirds by way of number of the Governors representing not less than three-fourths (75%) of the total voting power of the Bank's member countries.

At the Special Meeting, the candidates will present on their vision for the Bank and will receive questions from shareholders. The opportunity will be provided for several rounds of voting and discussions by Governors among themselves, should this be necessary to enable a decision by the required threshold majority.